City Arts Advisory committee

Mission of the Santa barbara city arts advisory committee

On September 4, 1984, Santa Barbara City Council directed that an Arts Commission Task Force be established to undertake a study of the formation, cost and organizational structure of a City Arts Commission, resulting in the adoption of Resolution No. 85-105, which established the Arts Advisory Committee. Appointed by Santa Barbara City Council, Committee Members oversee the Community Arts and Organizational Development Grants programs as well as exhibitions and installations in the City Hall Gallery, the sculpture pads on State Street and the Jardín de las Granadas.

The City Arts Advisory Committee prepares for City Council approval an annual set of goals and objectives that will serve the visual, performing, literary, and multi-media arts.

City Arts Advisory Committee meetings are open to the public and the community is encouraged to attend and participate during the public comment period. 

3rd Thursday of Each Month |  3:30 p.m. | David Gebhard Room, 630 Garden Street, Santa Barbara, CA

committee Members:


Margie Yahyavi (Chair)


Nathan Vonk


Robert Adams


Frederick Janka


William Smithers


Kai Tepper


MaryLove Thralls


City Council Liaison: Eric Friedman

Historic Landmarks Commission Liaison: Michael Drury

Santa Barbara Public Library Liaison: Jace Turner

Santa Barbara Film Commission Liaison: Ryan Grau